Second night

with one comment

I was late for work for my first day.  Way to go in leaving a good impression with everybody else.  This is a personal blog, as far as we go here, so that all of you can be updated on what I have been doing.

Let me go right from the start.  I hooked up with Ekin’s friend, Ikhwan, a guy from Ipoh who is taking his Masters here.  He fetched me from Ipoh and has offered a place in his house for me to stay temporarily.

 
While it is nice, I still feel the need to get my own place here, just as I have intended earlier.  I need to get my own place after all, I still can’t feel at home fully at people’s place.  I mean, I can’t wait to do my household chores naked.

 
The weather has been pretty extreme for these past few days, the sun was very hot when it was out and for today’s case, it has been raining continuously with few brief pauses in between.  It was so nice to sleep that I have just wke up from my nap.  It is 12.00 a.m. now, I slept from 8.30 p.m. just now and woke up three hours later.

 
I have got my own room, but still waiting for my PC to be installed.  The technician guy is working on that now.  It is a room in an old building, the temporary campus which was supposedly to be utilised for less a decade.  All other faculties, other than my and another, has been shifted to the new campus.  My faculty is still in the old campus complex.  Which is nice, there are more trees and way cooler here- the new campus complex is a complex of heat trapping greenhouses complete with all glass walls.

 
We are all victims of some crazy architect eager to give birth to their masterpieces.

 
The people here are really friendly and I am not saying that out of courtesy: I am never courteous.  The feeling here is pretty laidback and one really has to plan and know what is one to do in order to excel.  We are given a lot of space to plan for ourselves- there is no punch-card system for the academic staff here.  We are required to be at the faculty for 5 hours a day and that’s all.  My first taste of partial anarchistic system.

 
This is my second day here and I am beginning to like it.  Personally, I think that I have made the right choice- touch wood, but so far that I’ve see the way of things going on here.  I kinda like the way my nights are free in a way here- so that I could have lots of me-time.  To read, to write blog for you to read and to do lots of reading.  And I could go explore and do some eco-adventure in the weekend.  Or start a collective here, who knows.

 
I miss my hunney at home.

 
I have met both the deputy deans here and they have been very welcoming.  It does not feel awkward here at all.  Everybody is casually dressed, but more so for the ladies.  Being a guy it still means that I still have to have my black leather shoe, slack pants and shirts.  I prefer long sleeve to short.

 

I shall anticipate for more things to come.

Written by yuenkokleong

August 15, 2007 at 1:30 am

Posted in Days at Sarawak

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I like personal blogs, you know that my touchy-feely side likes that a lot, lol :P And I miss you so much that I’ve been keeping myself busy, so hence the late comments. Tee hee :3

    haruka.hana

    August 17, 2007 at 2:43 am


Leave a Reply

