Third Night

with 5 comments

I am, obviously not so occupied yet, so that I have some time to put my thoughts into words. This will not always be the case. Enjoy it while you still having it.

There is a sort of gathering today among all the academic staff. My first public appearance I supposed. Being a young newbie, I do what one should be smart enough to do. Sit quiet and observe. There is no need to prove myself in any way, yet. There is plenty of time for that.

I was lucky to be there. Seeing how fellow lecturers converse among themselves do tell a lot of things. The recessive ones who just sits and listen, the eager opinion provider who loves the limelight, the ones who talked only when was spoken too. The smart ones, the not so ones. Yes, it is unfair for me to comment on my first, nevertheless, I believe what I see and see the ways I sees it.

Frankly, there isn’t much to be done here. Not yet, at least. I suddenly felt the urge to have at least something to do, sitting around surfing makes me feel incompetent. Which not to say that I don’t have things to do- there are many things that I could do early, like preparing for my first tutorial by brushing up my economics. Which as always, the tired old me that make me hate myself at times, lose interest in the subject once it becomes obligatory.

Almost met an accident today in the afternoon. Yes, I was driving my colleague’s (being her sapir when we go out) car and I go opposing the traffic in a one-way street. I was fucking berliang at the moment, we were just milimeters away from colliding. The hokkien uncle furiously instructed me to wind down the window to give me a good scolding. A seasoned punching bag me, with 6 months of experience as a bank executive, I response with my best verbal abuse defense: my nonchalance. He was boiling red, as red as the 3 month old VIVA I was driving.

I would like to express my gratitude to Abang Johari from my previous bank branch. I observe and almost mastered all his skill of nonchalant and keeping a straightfaced whenever being barked upon. The strategy? Don’t show any emotion. Keep on nodding and repeating what the offender say. Keep nodding until the offender runs out of breath and let it all out of their lungs. Then you give them a “Are you done?” look, just the looks, don’t recite the phrase, and go abut your daily affairs. And smile!

Of course the nonchalance method is only second after the highest level of defence. Useful in any types of situation: humor. The highest attainment of humor defence is humor defence with offense. After all, the best defense, as they say in sports, is offense. Humor with sarcasm. This is a skill that can be attained through the sharpening of mind by being quick witted with an elegant dash of eloquence. Once you reach this stage, there would be no more: “Damn, when the other person say … just now, I should have responded with …”. Never again.

Also visited the library today. It is fucking enormous. Somebody told me that this could easily be one of the biggest library in Asia, if not South East Asia, or among Asian universities, or in one league or another, or fit to have a place in the Malaysian Book of Records of whatever. The whole Malaysia Boleh thing. But the problem with that size, that amount of space is: how the hell are we going to fill them. With the library policy that allows tutors (i.e. yours truly) to borrow up to 30 books at a certain time for the duration of not sigek, not duaigek, but tigaigek month, most of the time, the books are swept off the rack, further worsening the situation.

Ok, I have a sense that I am back to my old self again, writing such length in a paragraph. I’m sorry, old habits die hard 4.0.

We are all victims of some crazy architect eager to give birth to their masterpiece.

We are all victims of some crazy writer eager to give birth to their masterpiece.

Geddit?

We are all victims of some crazy *insert some ‘creative’ occupation here* eager to give birth to their masterpiece.

Geddit?

And yeah, there are apparently some interesting books there at the library: I think the library is (still, and hopefully for long) a bit open about purchasing not too typical academic book: I spotted Eat This Book by Morgan Spurlock. I took a pic of the books (including a graphic novel) that I have borrowed:

First successful hunting

I am still staying at friend’s place. I have contacted the landlord and will go view the house tomorrow. Hopefully can get a good price for the house. It is said to be an almost-fully furnished house. More than RM 300.00 I am not going to rent that. I know the price around here.

Oh, its late. Gotta wake up early. See you mofos!

Written by yuenkokleong

August 16, 2007 at 1:23 am

Posted in Days at Sarawak

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hey, yuen. it is supir, not sapir… ^___^ hahaha u make yourself sound like tapir.. >:D

    and sigek is one. duaksigek is suppose to be duak igek, and tigasigek is tiga igek… an so on..

    gotta brush up the sarawak tongue dude.

    see ya. have fun k.

    bark_larky

    August 16, 2007 at 5:55 am

  2. Oh, I will correct it immediately, see, if I don’t use it, I will never know whether I get it wrong or not..

    yuenkokleong

    August 17, 2007 at 2:40 am

  3. I shall flood your comment boxes! Because I’m envious of the Eisner-bound books in your library! How unfair! *Gets all excited and heated up at the same time* I hope I get to sneak peak the books when I come over. Pweeeeeaaaase! :3

    Get more altenative comics related shtuff!

    Aishiteruuuuu…..

    haruka.hana

    August 17, 2007 at 2:47 am

  4. See, so excited that I spelled ‘alternative’ wrong. Oh poo. I’m still flooding your comment box.

    haruka.hana

    August 17, 2007 at 9:23 am

  5. yuen,there’s no such word as “duasigik”,sigik means one, duagik means two..hehhe

    canabiss

    August 20, 2007 at 1:46 am


Leave a Reply

