Cancer sticks & Things that are Bad for Health

with 3 comments

I’ve just spent my last RM 3.00 on a packet of Rave cigarettes. Red.

It’s 8.50 p.m. at nite and I have just arrived home. I was soaking wet, drenched in a mixture of rainwater and my own sweat but it was worth it.

I’ve met my local Noam Chomsky, if the comparison is proper and in place.

It rained heavily after I met him, past the working hour and I was stranded for a while. It was still drizzling when I was walking back home. I landed my feet into a two inch deep puddle. There was no roadlights to see things on my way back, along the darn road that takes forever to complete. It was almost pitched dark with some distant lights. I have to rely on headlights of the passing car to see where I was going. Subsequently, my feet met puddles of mud with a wonderful palette of colour variety.

The guy above must be mocking fun at me. Probably punishing me for setting up a meeting with such a dissident. What he has done is impressive and is of no feat of an ordinary man.

Have no weekends”. He told me when I asked him how does he balance all curricular and non-curricular work of his.

And always remain single, so that familial obligations would not slow you down”. He turned out to be exactly what I expect him to be. A non-conformist that struggling to be optimist just to see the changes that he wishes he could witness one day.

I have found my fuel to progress forward here. This unapologetic, firm figure that provides the very much needed voice to the rest of us, the voice of the voiceless. This is exactly what I was afraid I will lack when I decided to come here. He is here, with his open door policy and ever welcoming persona.

Damn. My throat is sore. Somebody told me once that cigarettes of the best grade are made from the tip and the upper part of the tobacco leaves. And goes on, down the quality ladder for the more inferior grades, as it proceeds to the end of the leaf. I think the cigarette that I am smoking right now was made from the trunk of the tree.

So much for the words of wisdom when it comes to staying at people’s place. Eat the food they eat, drink what they drink and here I am, smoke the cigarette they smoke.

I came back and write as soon as I greeted the small numbers of my furniture hi. They are the only loyal companion that I have here.

Now if you will excuse me, it’s high time that I greet hi to my jamban.

Written by yuenkokleong

August 29, 2007 at 12:18 am

Posted in Days at Sarawak

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hey yuen,last time i bought rave,the price is still rm2.50 per pack.

    canabiss

    August 29, 2007 at 6:13 am

  2. Well, the time are a’changin’ dear.

    Even cigarettes made out of the tobacco tree trunk is sold at RM 3.00 nowadays. But I heard from someone that there still are some places that sells it for RM 2.50.

    I am not rushing to go seek for it, because my heart kinda shrunk and felt like being punched over and over again smoking that crap.

    Sorry such hard comment on your fave cigs. But I got the Red one though. Maybe I will give the Green one a try..

    Maybe.

    yuenkokleong

    August 29, 2007 at 10:34 am

  3. yuen,u should try the green one,really.but anyway, i’ve discovered that green rave doesn’t taste so good compared to winston light and sempoerna international (green).maybe on that time i only afford to buy green rave,and ive set my mind the taste is good.haha.

    Canabiss

    September 1, 2007 at 4:15 pm


Leave a Reply

