Education stole my virginity

with 5 comments

I was a bit nervous. It’s just human to be that way. Ask any prominent speaker whether do they get nervous speaking in the public, even for their umpteenth time, the answer will be a definite yes. It’s a way our systems are made to make us prepare.

I am of course referring to my tutorial class today. The one that I gave.

All well ends well. I had a great time giving them, very much lecturing than tutoring, I must admit, but which I would change after this. It should be such way. I guess (all self-absorbed presumption) that the students have a great time too. I can see their honest smile listening to me blabbering about stuffs. It’s involuntary.

In a way it just reaffirms me that I have, in fact, made the right decision. This is what I really wanted. I mean, thinking that you want something is one thing, but experiencing it after you have it and are assured from that point on is a different thing altogether. No, this is not a self-fulling belief, not this is not self-reassuring. I know, now don’t you dare to question me.

Being a attention whore that I am (no sexist remark intended), it is no wonder that I like that. Uncompromising attention is what everybody is seeking nowadays, isn’t it? I mean, just look at all the blogs (this included) screaming to be noticed and read. We are having too many people busy talking, telling us things in various ways, but not enough people who are listening.

But the class need more interaction. The usual Malaysian student affairs. Not talking when spoken to, but talk when is not. I did go out a bit authoritarian, I will stop the side chattings whenever I see one. Can’t blame me right, I am after all, up there, the “Tutor”. Hah.

So we discussed (or rather I discussed) about issues, trying to make things relevant to all of them- I mean, we already have enough of years of Malaysian education teaching us things that we are not sure we will need when we go out of school right? So I explain the importance of having basic, fundamental knowledge about Economics, the subject that I tutored, for this semester at least. I will be doing Malaysia Social History next semester, most probably.

There was a bit about the minimum wage issue raised by MTUC, the anti-FTA movement going on, daun pisang currency, inflation, advertising and branding, a bit here and there. I hope the students take effort to Google stuffs after my class.

And then there are students asking my age..and my current “status”..

I’ll keep it till that for now..

Written by yuenkokleong

August 29, 2007 at 12:20 am

Posted in Days at Sarawak

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ello. I’ll be in Kuching by Sunday. Shall we meet?
    =)

    thanks again for the picture, pok.

    Chaicoughski

    August 31, 2007 at 4:45 pm

  2. me again.
    Did someone say rollies in exchange for accomadation and transport and food?

    3 igek packet tek nak? haha.
    email me so i can get your number.

    Chaicoughski

    August 31, 2007 at 7:06 pm

  3. aha … got urs from chai’s link. so you’re studying in unimas i reckon? :)

    x.

    tra la la

    September 4, 2007 at 10:43 am

  4. Lala!
    Hehe..no, if you read my post then you will know..
    I am not studying here..I am at the other end of learning. You have a blog sik?

    yuenkokleong

    September 7, 2007 at 1:13 am

  5. ada blog :P lol but its lame la very high school ish ahahaah very diff than chai’s! lol .. ltr i give u okay .. it’s still under reno cause i don’t like the layout. oh yesh now i know what exactly you’re doing in kch … :) omg! now im missing kch when i saw the pics of the kolo mee and ipanema!! :( :(

    x.

    tra la la

    September 8, 2007 at 9:55 am


Leave a Reply

