Hardline atheists

with 2 comments

I am not directing this to one of my friend, though to a certain extent it does came from him that I have this thought.  He is a nice chap, he meant good (so to speak) but the way that he fought to defend his atheism by condemning people who holds their faith dearly sparked a disagreement in me.  He went too far.

He knew I am an atheist myself (read: not really, I am an agnostic, I like to keep my options open than to subscribe to anything- relate that with a hardline vs a moderate believer in anything but then again they say that we are people without strong principles and not standing on firm ground but I do not wish to argue with that).  So he does not have any qualms with me, well, in a way.

He passed to me the God Delusion by the world renowned atheist, a Charles Simonyi intellectual by the name of Richard Dawkins.   This book:

(but the cover different punya, white corour)

And like himself, this guy is a staunch atheist.  I don’t even want to point out the irony here, that at the same time these atheists could point fingers at the hardline fundamentalist (insert religion here) they themselves are pretty hardline the same.  Two sides of the same coin.  One word I would describe them to put them on the level ground as those people they despise: Self- Righteous.

And since I don’t know Richard Dawkins myself, I take this micro case studies on atheists on the conduct of my friend (of course, you say: not all atheist are like that!  I know).  He illustartes signs of anger and frustrations when his ‘points’ of the non-existence of God and arguments tearing apart the tales on Bibles are not well-recived by his audience.  Look, is that even hard to accept?  Of course people disagree with you, they are firm believers man!  And then he goes on and on and on and on and on (no exaggeration here) of how he is right and the other is wrong.  That he knew beter because he ahave studied the Book and the other have not.  And spoiled the whole supposedly fun night.  And lost a friend.  *Clap *Clap *Clap. Paloi.

He’s right.  I agree with him all of it.  But the means does not justifies the end (not from me, read back Ethics philosophy to know who say that).  What’s the whole point of proving who’s right?  Hasn’t he stroke his ego enough?  What was he trying to prove?

Atheists, we can safely say, are even more self-righteous than believers.  Period.

Written by yuenkokleong

September 24, 2008 at 4:30 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. the same goes with feminists who accuses men to be sexists. the feminists themselves can be the worst sexists ever..

    Gustri

    April 17, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    • Yes, anything taken to the extreme is never good.

      asparagus

      April 24, 2009 at 8:46 am


Leave a Reply

