Love and Hate

with one comment

Let’s see, it has been almost two years I work as ‘some sort of’ academic.

(some sort because they say that till you have your PhD, your career in academia have not even started yet. Well, according to those with one anyway. What a bunch of self ego-stroking creatures! Have them poor souls not heard of the Oracle who flew with a golden starlet? The Guardian of Infinite Wisdom?)

(Or the plumber looking apek who reign all the research. The “Con-sultan”?)

Insider joke, korang yang lain tak paham.

Who says that they have Pee-Haight-Dee? Nasty-Pee?

So I was thinking, not exactly evaluating, because my leg is already deep in. About the feeling of me being the ‘some sort of’ academic. Geez susahnya nak cakap.

I love knowledge, people. I am sure that has been in your knowledge, if you know me well enough. Hearsays, folk stories, gossips, myths, speculations, eavesdrops- I take it all in. Sambil minum Genius Juice, untuk menjadi Genius! I like reading it. I love to hear it . But when it comes to listening to it, I have a little problem. I mean, I love to hear it from villagers and people from the street, but when I hear an academic talking, I feel nauseous. I came with the realisation today.

What is wrong with me?

I feel like puking in my mouth and then drink it back as I have to appear respectable in a ‘seminar’/presentation (ala Jude Law’s character in Eternal Sunshine on a Spotless Mind salah movie daaa..- I <3 Huckabees, thanks sourmilk). The name-dropping (my guilty pleasure too, but not when other people’s doing, or doing it unsolicited) and the verbal outburst that always seems could not be fitted in the time slot- be it 20 minutes or 20 hours. Again during Q & A.

I will end up feeling dizzy after the whole fracas, padan muka la, because usually I invite myself there. So dizzy that I would skip my favourite roti jala with delicious kuah kari.

So now the question is- macam mana mau jadi akademik ni?

Written by yuenkokleong

July 17, 2009 at 1:25 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. babe, Jude Law’s character in I-Heart-Huckabees… :P

    sourmilk

    July 17, 2009 at 2:37 pm


Leave a Reply

